2017 Alaska Conference of Mayors Position Statement

Alaska Conference of Mayors

The Alaska Conference of Mayors (ACoM) is a the parent organization of the Alaska Municipal League. The Alaska Conference of Mayors and the Alaska Municipal league work together to form a municipal consensus on state and federal issues facing Alaskan local governments.

“The purpose of the Alaska Conference of Mayors is offer an opportunity for the mayors to discuss issues of common concern, work together for the betterment of their municipalities, and to improve the understanding of and information about municipalities in Alaska.”

2019 ACoM Officers

Mayor Jan Hill
Haines Borough
1st Vice President
Mayor Richard Beneville
City of Nome
2nd Vice President
Mayor Bryce Ward
Fairbanks North Star Borough
Population up to 2,500
Mayor Joshua Verhagen
City of Nenana
Populations 2,501-10,000
Mayor Mark Jensen
Petersburg Borough
Populations over 10,000
Mayor Ethan Berkowitz
Municipality of Anchorage
Past President
Mayor Dan O’Hara
Bristol Bay Borough
Past President
Mayor Glen Alsworth, Sr.
Lake & Pen. Borough

2019 ACoM Members

Mayor Douglas Whiteman, City of Atqasuk
Mayor Fred Watson, City of Bethel
Mayor Perry Olson, City of Coffman Cove
Mayor Timothy O’Connor, City of Craig
Mayor Clay Walker, Denali Borough
Mayor Scovi Deigh, City of Egegik
Mayor Jim Matherly, City of Fairbanks
Mayor Calvin Casipit, City of Gustavis
Mayor Ken Castner, City of Homer
Mayor Anthony Christianson, City of Hydaburg
Mayor Brian Gabriel, City of Kenai,
Mayor David Landis, Ketchikan Gateway Borough
Mayor Pat Branson, City of Kodiak
Mayor Walter A. Morgan, City of Lower Kalskag
Mayor Dawn Wassillie, City of Newhalen
Mayor Michael Welch, City of North Pole
Mayor Lucy S. Nelson, City of Northwest Arctic Borough
Mayor Walt Weller, City of Pelican
Mayor Mark Jensen, Peters Borough
Mayor Glen Gardner Jr., City of Sand Point
Mayor Gary Paxton, City and Borough of Sitka
Mayor Nels Anderson, City of Soldotna
Mayor Frank, Kelty, City of Unalaska
Mayor Bert Cottle, City of Wasilla
Mayor Stephen Prysunka, City and Borough of Wrangell
Mayor Lowell S. Peterson, City and Borough of Yakutat