N E W S  R E L E A S E


NACo CONTACT: Paul Guequierre, pguequierre@naco.org

AML CONTACT: Nils Andreassen, nils@akml.org


Alaska Municipal League earns national achievement award for the Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission


WASHINGTON – Alaska Municipal League has been recognized with an Achievement Award from the National Association of Counties (NACo). The awards honor innovative, effective county government programs that strengthen services for residents.


NACo recognized the Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission (ARSSTC), in the category of Financial Management. Eighteen programs were selected for the Achievement Award. Of those 18, ARSSTC was selected as the “Best in Category” Award Winner!


The ARSSTC was established via an intergovernmental agreement in 2019 to coordinate sales tax collection for remote sales into Alaska. The ARSSTC provides governance over the streamlined, single-level administration of sales tax collection and remittance – while ensuring due diligence. Its Uniform Code establishing remote sales tax collection rules was passed in November 2019.


Since its inception, ARSSTC has added over 1000 registered sellers. It’s projected that FY21 will end with approximately $9 million dollars collected by the Commission and, subsequently, distributed to its 34 local government members.


“AML is thankful for the careful governance of the ARSSTC board of directors, and the willingness for all members to come together for mutual benefit,” according to Nils Andreassen, AML Executive Director. “Together, we have achieved an effective and timely program that is truly remarkable.”


NACo President Gary Moore said, “Over the past year, county officials and frontline employees have demonstrated bold, inspirational leadership. This year’s Achievement Award winning programs illustrate the innovative ways counties build healthy, safe and vibrant communities across America.”


Nationally, awards are given in 18 different categories that reflect the vast, comprehensive services counties provide. The categories include children and youth, criminal justice and public safety, county administration, information technology, health, civic engagement and many more.


Started in 1970, NACo’s annual Achievement Awards program is designed to recognize county government innovations. Each nominee is judged on its own merits and not against other applications received.



The National Association of Counties (NACo) strengthens America’s counties, including nearly 40,000 county elected officials and 3.6 million county employees. Founded in 1935, NACo unites county officials to advocate for county government priorities in federal policymaking; promote exemplary county policies and practices; nurture leadership skills and expand knowledge networks; optimize county and taxpayer resources and cost savings; and enrich the public’s understanding of county government. www.naco.org